Joyful Jewish

Bunting for Chanukah

Posted on: 26 July, 2011

After the success of my Pesach placemats, I thought I would try and sew something else for my home.

Using a mixture of Jewish prints and co-ordinating material from my stash,  I made some bunting to hang up for Chanukah.   My daughter absolutely loves it, and I’m sure it will get a lot of use in the years to come.

If you’d like to do something similar, you can find plenty of tutorials on the internet.  I used these ones.

How to make bunting: http://www.myhomemadehappy.com/?p=54

I followed these instructions pretty closely, apart from not cutting two pieces of fabric at the same time.  I found it easiest to use a single chopstick to make the point of each pennant (triangle).  And I sewed strips of velcro at each end so I can open and close the loops.

My biggest challenge was making my own bias binding for the first time.  I used the instructions from here: http://modernquiltlove.wordpress.com/2009/04/30/how-to-make-continuous-bias-binding/

This references another site: http://pir8.freeservers.com/quilting/CBT/

Then there was an a-ha moment when I discovered I could get it all to fold up perfectly by threading a pin into the cover of my ironing board: http://creativelittledaisy.typepad.com/creative_little_daisy/2007/11/diy-version-of.html

Thanks to these sites, I successfully made what I needed, and half a metre of 110cm wide fabric was successfully transformed into nearly 11 metres of bias binding.  The worst part was ironing it all!

Then it was just a case of pinning it all together and letting the sewing machine do the rest.

Unfortunately some of my menorahs are upside down – but I didn’t want to waste fabric by not using them, and if the bunting is against a wall then you will only see them right side up.

It feels like a party with this strung up in my home!  I made three separate lengths, each about 3.5 metres long (20-23 pennants).  Roll on Chanukah!!

5 Responses to "Bunting for Chanukah"

I wish I could sew. These look great :)

[…] include my chanukah bunting, some solar powered lanterns, our apple decorations, a few things from a $2 shop and some sukkot […]

[…] pipe cleaner chanukiah is up on the front door, the bunting and dreidel mobiles are hung up inside, we’ve stocked up on new candles and a big bag of […]

Hi
The bunting looks amazing! I wish I had listened to my mother when she encouraged me to learn to sew! I also wish you would make some so we can all buy them!
Sue

[…] can’t believe it’s nearly Chanukah again already!  The Chanukah bunting and dreidel decorations are up, the cushions are out, the table runner is on display, my daughter […]

Leave a Reply

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.

Enjoy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

