Joyful Jewish

Sew your own toy Torah

Posted on: 7 May, 2012

Look what I made!

Exhibit A: not my cup of tea

I’ve been wanting a stuffed toy Torah for a while now, but they are not available locally, postage from overseas is expensive, and frankly I wanted something that looked more like a scroll and less like a multicoloured cartoon alien (see exhibit A).  With Shavuot approaching, I decided to take the plunge and make my own.  Thankfully at least one talented person has been smart enough to design their own toy Torah, and kind enough to put the instructions online.  Thank you Sweet&Crunchy!!

Days are like scrolls; write on them what you will.

Following her tutorial, I didn’t have too much trouble putting my own home-made sewn-and-stuffed toy Torah together.  I used calico (approx 30cm wide x 85cm long) for the scroll, felt for the handles (approx 8.5cm diameter for the circles), a ribbon for the belt, and some leftover fancy fabric (with scalloped edge) for the cover.  I only had to unpick one major blooper, so I’m feeling quite pleased with myself!

My daughter is very happy and already making plans to carry it around shul for Simchat Torah!  I am hoping to make a breastplate, yad and possibly even rimonim, but the technicalities of all that will be revealed in the fullness of time (ie after I figure it out for myself!)

3 Responses to "Sew your own toy Torah"

Wow, it’s gorgeous! Definitely an improvement on the original :)

Beautiful!! Glad to have stumbled across your blog (looking for Shavuot crafts… but this Torah makes me jealous every time I see it).

I love seeing two of my favorite Jewish bloggers collaborate: Joyful Jewish and Sweet and Crunchy.
Beautiful Torah! (We own a “multicoloured cartoon alien” version, but it’s even worse than the one you pictured.)

Leave a Reply

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.

Enjoy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 74 other followers

