Joyful Jewish

Pool noodle menorah for Chanukah

Posted on: 26 November, 2012

I know it’s not good manners to covet, but when I first laid eyes on my friend (The Bible Belt Balabusta) Joanna’s AWESOME pool noodle and stubby holder chanukiah, I knew I had to own one myself.  Lucky for me (and you) she has kindly provided step-by-step instructions for making your own!

I have only a few things to add:

1. As it’s nearly summer in Australia it is extremely easy to find pool noodles.  However, as I discovered after purchasing some likely specimens, not all of them will fit into a stubby holder.  So I recommend taking a sample stubby holder with you on your noodle buying expedition, otherwise you may find yourself suddenly equipped with a couple of extra Chanukah gifts to give away.

2. I would have loved to use plain coloured stubby holders, but I’m not sure you can actually buy them retail in Australia.  I could only find decorated ones, many of very dubious tastefulness.  In the end I sought advice from my daughter’s pre-primary teacher, who directed me to an educational art and craft supply store where I was able to find white ones. We might paint them next year.

3. Even my husband, who claims not to like craft of any description, enjoyed helping make this.  I bought a piece of pine from Bunnings, 1.2m x 9cm x 1.8cm, he cut off three 9cm lengths to raise the shamash, and put everything together.

4. I made flames out of foam like Joanna’s, but they kept tipping over backwards.  I had the idea of wrapping the foam around a popstick, and that helps keep the flame upright.

Roll on Chanukah!

1 Response to "Pool noodle menorah for Chanukah"

So thrilled that you made one, too. It, and your helper, are adorable!

Leave a Reply

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.

Enjoy!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

