Joyful Jewish

Hamantaschen earrings made from modelling clay

Posted on: 21 February, 2013

Recently I used modelling clay to make mini hamantaschen for I Spy Graggers. It was fun, and I wondered what else I could make. (I am inspired by Joanna at Bible Belt Balabusta.  Check out her tiny hamantaschen as playfood for toys, and her model magic hamantaschen fridge magnets.)  At some point it occurred to me that I’d love to own some hamantaschen earrings.  I’ve never made earrings before – but then again I’d never used modelling clay before this month either, so I decided to give it a go.

Purim earrings

I’m sure you can get “proper” earring components and jewellery making tools which could make your earrings look very professional, but all I had at home was a spool of beading wire, which is extremely soft and easy to bend by hand.  This turned out to be all I needed.  When I made my hamantaschen out of modelling clay, I bent one end of a length of wire into a loop, and placed this loop between the “dough” layer and the “filling”.  The wire was then trapped in place when I baked the clay.

Then, I twisted the end of the wire which was sticking out into a small loop.  I could have used the hamantaschen as pendants at this point, but continued on with the earrings by threading a second length of wire through the loop and fashioning it into a hook to go through my ear.  As I said, beading wire is really easy to bend!

Hamantaschen earring

And now I own a own a cool pair of hamantaschen earrings, just in time for Purim! Yay!

3 Responses to "Hamantaschen earrings made from modelling clay"

They look great! Isn’t it fun to make stuff out of what you already have lying around? And thanks for the mention.

so using a modelling clay was it difficult to harden?

No, not difficult at all. You just need to bake it in the oven for 10 minutes at a low heat, or as per instructions for the type of modelling clay you choose.

Leave a comment

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.

Enjoy!