Joyful Jewish

Learning about trees: a craft for Tu B’Shevat

Posted on: 5 January, 2011

Kids love flaps!!  So I decided to make this a feature of our Shabbat Tot craft this month, when we’ll be talking about Tu B’Shevat, the birthday of the trees.

(Yes I know it is more commonly known as the New Year of the Trees, but how many three year olds really understand the idea of New Year? Compare that to the number of three year olds who understand the concept of a birthday and you’ll see why I’ve taken the birthday option!)

Appreciating trees for Tu B’Shevat

First, you need a picture of a tree.  I “drew” mine on the computer using a big thought bubble and a couple of curved lines.  You are welcome to download a copy here:  Tu B’shevat – tree with flaps.
Draw or print this tree on light cardboard, and cut out a number of flaps (I have marked these onto my picture.)

Then,  find or draw some pictures to represent some of the amazing things we get from trees.   I kept it simple, and included wood, paper, a home for wildlife, fruit, nuts, flowers and shade.  These pictures go onto a piece of paper which will be placed behind the tree, so that when you open a flap, you’ll see a picture.  You are welcome to download my pictures here. Tu B’shevat – what trees give us (They were all found on random parts of the internet via google.)

Decorate your tree.  I cut out leaf shapes (teardrops, diamonds, etc) and trunks from assorted coloured paper I had at home, and also used a craft punch.  My daughter particularly enjoyed helping punch out the curly shapes.

Stick the sheet of pictures behind the tree with the flaps, and let your child enjoy finding “tree treasures” for Tu B’Shevat.

If you don’t want to do the two layers, here is a single sheet which combines both pictures but omits the flaps.  Tu B’shevat – all in one page

—–

 

9 Responses to "Learning about trees: a craft for Tu B’Shevat"

I just stumbled upon your blog and LOVE it! I look forward to reading more of your posts. I will be using this activity this week with my daughter. I will share it on my blog and link to you.🙂

Thank you for the activity!!

Thank you so much! I have enjoyed reading your blog too, hopefully we can continue to inspire each other.

[…] year we made trees with flaps for Tu B’Shevat.  This year we are going even more three dimensional! This is such an easy craft activity but it […]

This is SUPER! Love the instant visuals, the fun flaps. And I totally agree about the Birthday vs. New Year imagery.
Taking this project to a meeting today, to discuss including it in our preschool program. Thanks so much for adding the downloads!

You are very welcome!🙂

Thank you so much… I am going to do this craft this sunday with my prek-k class. I know they will love it.

Thank you Rachel, happy to help!

[…] free, printable lift-the-flap activity from Joyful Jewish: Learning about Trees. Share this:FacebookTwitterEmailStumbleUponRedditDiggPrintLike this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

Great craft. I’m going to be using this for my JK class. Thanks for sharing and providing the info for free.

Leave a Reply

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.

Enjoy!

