Joyful Jewish

Purim puppets from wooden spoons

Posted on: 10 March, 2011

Last year I made Purim puppets which were paper pictures of the main characters stuck onto popsticks.  Last week I was walking through my supermarket, not even thinking about Purim, when I saw they were selling 6-piece bamboo spoon sets for three dollars.   Instantly the idea was hatched, and with a little help from my daughter, we now have some hilariously kitsch Purim spoon puppets to help illustrate our reading of the “Shabbat Tot Megillah” this year.

This was so easy – all you need is
– some wooden spoons
– a pen or pencil to draw facial features (I suggest something non-toxic if you ever want to use the spoon again for its original purpose)
– some googly eyes
– cardboard for hats and crowns (we decorated ours with stickers)
– curling ribbon, wool or similar for hair
– scraps of paper, ribbon or fabric for clothing, attached in this case with pieces of pipe cleaner or more ribbon
plus sticky tape/glue/double sided tape for attaching hair/moustaches/beards.

Here are our heroes (and villain) in more detail.

The curling ribbon hair is fabulous – bounce your spoon along and the hair sproings high and low.  Sadly there was a minor mishap when my daughter “danced” Queen Esther just a little too vigorously and one of her eyeballs fell off, but we found it a day later and all is well again!

8 Responses to "Purim puppets from wooden spoons"

oh my goodness! Those are CUTE!

Hi! These are absolutely adorable! I’ve just linked to your project from my site. I hope that’s okay… you can check it out here:

Please let me know if it’s okay to link to your projects like this in the future. And thanks for the inspiration!

Rachel @ AllFreeHolidayCrafts

Thank you! You are welcome to link to other crafts on my blog, but I would appreciate it if you notify me each time.

[…] we read out our child-friendly version of the Megillat Ester, added some visuals with our Purim spoon puppets, and shook those greggers/graggers/groggers for all they were worth!  It was great fun! Share […]

[…] a great rendition of my Purim story for young children (ie the G-rated version) with accompanying Purim spoon puppets, and tested out some new hamantaschen recipes.  And now we’re all set for […]

Hi. They are just so cute. Simply love them!

[…] will have fun making – and playing with – these Wooden Spoon Purim Puppets from Joyful […]

Leave a Reply

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.


