Joyful Jewish

Appliqued cushions for Chanukah

Posted on: 6 December, 2012

Cushion detail

This was a very spur-of-the-moment idea.  A friend asked me to bring some cushions for kids to sit on while they listened to Chanukah stories.  I was going to fetch a few out of the attic – we have a stash we keep specifically to recline on at Pesach – when I noticed a neighbour was throwing out 4 plain blue cushions.  Always happy to recycle, I collected them, washed them, and decided to add some easy applique.

Nun gimel

Actually I mentally ran through a bunch of possible decorating ideas before going with what seemed most foolproof!  I printed off outline Hebrew letters in the largest font possible (999pt, in case you were wondering) to use as a template, then used heat-n-bond (something I have only recently discovered, but LOVE) to iron the resulting letters onto a square of co-ordinating fabric, and then sewed that to each cushion cover.  The zig-zag stitching is not perfect, but it does the job and the whole project was done in a couple of hours.

Hey shin

We’ll be dedicating these cushions to the comfort of dreidel spinners’ tucheses for years to come!

3 Responses to "Appliqued cushions for Chanukah"

So pretty! Wish I could do it without sewing (no machine, no skill). Plus, all my attempts with heat bond material have been totally bond-less. I want to put all four cushions together, make a big, soft dreidel and spin it! By the way, how lovely that you’ve been invited somewhere to hear Hanukkah stories…

I love these! I just took an intro to sewing class last week and these totally make me want to learn more (err, give me an excuse to by a machine🙂

[…] nearly Chanukah again already!  The Chanukah bunting and dreidel decorations are up, the cushions are out, the table runner is on display, my daughter is flipping felt latkes and leaving dreidels […]

Leave a Reply

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.

Enjoy!

