Joyful Jewish

Menorah wall hanging with pockets for gelt

Posted on: 15 December, 2012

Wall hanging

My plan: to make a wall hanging depicting a chanukah menorah (chanukiah) with flames that would fold up as you “lit” them each night, revealing a small pocket in which to find a piece of gelt (chocolate coin).

Finished cover

The challah cover chanukiah

What happened first: my original design (which I thought was quite elegant) did not have candles wide enough to accommodate the chocolate coins I wanted to hide in them, and if I scaled the design up so that the candles were wide enough, the entire thing was simply way too big.  So I turned that design into a challah cover.

What happened next: I ended up making a wall hanging  dictated by the width of the candles and the design was a lot less glamorous, at least in part because I made it up as I went along rather than starting with a pattern.  I used clear plastic press-studs to hold up the flames.

Wall hanging pockets

You can just make out the pockets, which are a square at the top of each candle.

It took me a day or two to design/cut/machine sew the thing together and about 5 weeks to make myself hand sew 18 press-stud pieces. If I was making it again (which, trust me, I am not going to do) I would change quite a bit.  But it does hold gelt, which makes it extremely popular with the youngest member of the household; and if she’s happy then I’m happy too.

Clutching the prize!

Clutching the prize!

1 Response to "Menorah wall hanging with pockets for gelt"

How neat! I see the teeny line of stitching an inch or so down from the top of the candle, right? And the plastic studs are nearly invisible. Brilliant. The process really does make one piece of gelt seem like a prize. You are cultivating gratitude along with anticipation and celebration.

Leave a Reply

Fun crafts and activities for Jewish families with young children

A resource site for anyone who wants to share the joy of being Jewish with the children in their life.

Enjoy!

